The Ontario Professional Engineers Foundation for Education is governed by a working Board of Directors elected annually by its members. The directors guide the affairs of the Foundation with the principles of fairness, transparency, and accountability.

Our membership is comprised of past and current Councillors, Board and staff of Professional Engineers Ontario (PEO) and Ontario Society of Professional Engineers (OSPE). In 2014, the Foundation opened 36 additional member slots for representatives of the Chapters network of PEO.

Board of Directors

Marisa Sterling, P.Eng., FEC
President & Chair

Marisa is a chemical engineer who brings governance, community and volunteer experience to the Foundation’s goal of championing access to education. She has held management roles in the private sector and with Professional Engineers Ontario (PEO) and is currently Assistant Dean at York University’s Lassonde School of Engineering.

Sue Tessier, P.Eng.

Formerly a director of the Ontario Society of Professional Engineers (OSPE) and a metallurgical engineer with a 34 year career in the mining industry in northern Ontario, Sue brings experience serving on volunteer boards with a focus on fundraising and donations. Sue received an honourary doctorate in 2016, recognized as the first woman to graduate from Laurentian University’s School of Engineering.

Maria Iannone

Maria is an administrative assistant for the enforcement group at Professional Engineers Ontario (PEO). With over 35 years of experience working in the government and healthcare, Maria brings a wealth of knowledge in effective execution of programs and fundraising.

Márta Ecsedi, P.Eng., FEC

Márta is a civil engineer who retired after 31 years in the telecommunications industry. Márta has volunteered for many originations including the University of Toronto, PEO & OSPE, Youth in Motion and Havergal College. Márta was previously on Foundation Board and served as its President. She is pleased to be returning to the Board.


Shelly Deitner, P.Eng.

Currently a director of the Ontario Society of Professional Engineers (OSPE) and chair of the Women In Engineering Advocacy Committee (WEAC), Shelly is a civil engineer with over 15 years of experience in environmental remediation. Shelly has held leadership roles with the Society of Women Engineers (SWE) and serves as a mentor in OSPE’s Engineering Professional Success Pilot Mentorship Program for women.

Dr. Bob Dony, P.Eng., FEC

Bob is a professor with the School of Engineering at the University of Guelph in the field of biomedical engineering. He currently serves as the President of Professional Engineers Ontario (PEO). He received his B.A.Sc and M.A.Sc. degrees in Systems Design Engineering at University of Waterloo and his Ph.D. degree from McMaster University. He has three children – two are EITs and one is a PEO student member.

Jane Huang, P.Eng.

A former director of the Ontario Society of Professional Engineers (OSPE), Jane is a mechanical engineer and a project manager educated in China, France and Canada. Jane is actively involved in promoting world-class engineering education and building a strong engineering community.

Dr. Matthew Jelavic, P.Eng.

Matthew is a professor of mechanical engineering technology at Durham College and adjunct associate professor of management at the University of Ontario Institute of Technology (UOIT). He is currently the Vice-Chair of the Ontario Society of Professional Engineers (OSPE), as well as President and Board Chair of the Canadian Society of Professional Engineers.

Arthur Sinclair, P.Eng.

Arthur is Chair of the East Toronto Chapter of the PEO. He is a municipal engineer with civil and electrical engineering degrees. He brings experience as a consultant, constructor, and client. Arthur is a project manager working on large infrastructure projects and a proactive mentor to students and younger engineers.


  • Kim Allen, P.Eng.
  • David Brown, P.Eng.
  • Noreen Calderbank, P.Eng.
  • Tracey Caruana, P.Eng
  • Colin Cantlie, P.Eng.
  • Karen Chan, P.Eng.
  • Jeannette Chau, P.Eng.
  • Corneliu Chisu, P.Eng.
  • Bruce Clarida, P.Eng.
  • George Comrie, P.Eng.
  • Peter Cowherd, CMA
  • Valerie Davidson, P.Eng.
  • Shelly Deitner, P.Eng.
  • Bob Dony, P.Eng.
  • Bernard Ennis, P.Eng.
  • Roydon Fraser, P.Eng.
  • Jamie Gerson, P.Eng.
  • Ashley Gismondi
  • Santosh Gupta, P.Eng.
  • Lola Hidalgo Salgado, P.Eng.
  • Stephen Jack, P.Eng.
  • Matthew Jelavic, P.Eng.
  • Catherine Karakatsanis, P.Eng.
  • Chetan Mehta, MBA
  • Nick Monsour, P.Eng.
  • Valeria Mueller
  • Changiz Sadr, P.Eng.
  • Rakesh Shreewastav, P.Eng.
  • Baijul Shukla
  • Marilyn Spink, P.Eng.
  • Michelle Wehrl
  • Richard Weldon, P.Eng.
  • Michael Wesa, P.Eng.
  • Rob Willson, P.Eng.

Chapter Members


Stay Connected